Do you want an unelected body, the OMB, to approve the destruction of Glen Abbey? The pre-hearing starts April 27. Action required: use email links provided to email politicians.

Despite the Oakville Town Council declaring the property a Heritage Landscape, the owners, ClubLink are appealing the decision and are also appealing the rejection by the Council of their development application to build over 3,000 homes, plus retail and commercial space. The owners now want to demolish the property despite being denied permission to build.

We want this destruction of the heart of Oakville stopped

Our Town via its unanimous Council decisions, the Halton Regional Chair, Gary Carr, our MPP Kevin Flynn and the vast majority of residents have clearly said they want this destruction of the heart of Oakville stopped.

Despite this massive opposition the decision may rest in the hands of the unelected Ontario Municipal Board (OMB).

We need the Provincial Government to backdate Bill 139 to May 2017

New legislation (Bill139) is replacing the OMB with a new governing body (LPAT).  The LPAT will be required to give greater weight to planning decisions of local councils. However, currently the LPAT will not rule on the Glen Abbey case because of the initial date of the ClubLink redevelopment application. We need the Provincial Government to backdate Bill 139 to May 2017, in order for the newly formed LPAT to oversee the ClubLink initiated appeal.

We need you to email elected officials

Click on the desired elected officials name below to send them a pre-written email.

Flynn, Kevin Daniel – (Oakville)
Premier Kathleen Wynne
OLP Comms
Laurie LeBlanc Deputy Minister
Bill Mauro Minister of Municipal Affairs
Yasir Naqvi Attorney General
Carly Foerster Executive Assistant to the Premier
Maddy Porter Special Assistant to the Premier
Sean Fraser Director Heritage Programs and Operations
Minister for Tourism, Culture and Sport Daiene Vernile
Federal Minister of Canadian Heritage Mélanie Joly
Indira Naidoo Harris – MPP Halton, Minister of Education and Early Years and Child Care
Yvan Baker, MPP (Etobicoke Centre)
Damerla, Dipika – (Mississauga East–Cooksville)
Damerla, Dipika – (Mississauga East–Cooksville):
Bob Delaney, MPP (Mississauga—Streetsville)
McMahon, Eleanor – (Burlington)
Milczyn, Peter Z. – (Etobicoke–Lakeshore)
Qaadri, Shafiq – (Etobicoke North)
Takhar, Harinder S. – (Mississauga–Erindale)
Mangat, Amrit – (Mississauga–Brampton South)
Stephen Crawford – Progressive Conservative candidate, Oakville
Alan Tedjo Liberal candidate Halton
Effie Triantafilopoulos – Progressive Conservative candidate, Oakville North Burlington